Holacracy: an organization for humans.

A sustainable way of working

Internal processes and project management are crucial concepts in order to effectively achieve what people undertake in an organization. But how can you make sure your organization will remain sound and strong in the long term? Our values, inherently rooted in our organization since its inception, are an attempt to foster a virtuous circle between society and technology for the benefit of people. But how can we make sure of succeeding?

Having been used to working with lean and agile approaches in project management, we have decided to implement these practices to the entire organization of Octree. To this end, we have chosen a distributed management system: Holacracy.

The holacratic system is agile, which means that it is accessible to every member of our team. Its constitution is recognized as the supreme power, and the need for a CEO is suppressed.

Leadership is everyone’s responsibility and is shared, to give the opportunity to each and everyone to take an active part in the decision making process.
Leadership is everyone’s responsibility and is shared, to give the opportunity to each and everyone to take an active part in the decision making process.

Breaking the pyramidal structure

The mainstream pyramidal structure, found in most organizations, faces many challenges and remains strongly hierarchical. Aiming to control everything, it actually overlooks reality and promotes individual careers instead of focusing on a general and common goal.

Holacracy provides more freedom through the establishment of roles and of clearly defined fields of action. This stimulates and protects a spirit of individual initiative inside the company. Errors are not perceived as negative anymore, but rather as learning opportunities.

Example of "existing structure" —  Mark Walsh, Integration Training.
Example of "existing structure" —  Mark Walsh, Integration Training.

Solution oriented self-management

Holacracy meetings are well-structured and focus on identifying tensions and addressing them. Nothing is left to chance as there is always a designated facilitator to help dialog and identify tensions.

Everyone working at Octree can submit and bring structural solutions or new rules in order to improve collaboration. It is therefore a responsibility we all share.

Trust & transparency

Transparency – in all our actions and projects – is essential to make progress together. This allows us to move forward thanks to shared views and opinions, which guarantee constant improvement. Transparency is also a key element to strengthen trust and kindness amongst us.

Our desire to preserve what matters to us has helped us create a sound and thriving atmosphere at work, where everyone is always ready to give his best to protect and preserve a place where trust and kindness between people, is key.

To sum things up, a quotation of Matt Dunsmoor, former product manager at Zappos, a holacratic company: Holacracy itself is actually just an alternative form of hierarchy, but the main difference is that it’s a hierarchy of work and not people.

Tell us about your project, ideas or simply get in touch.
Contact Us

Holacracy: une organisation humaine.

Un fonctionnement durable

Les processus internes et la gestion de projet sont des aspects essentiels de ce que l’on entreprend au sein d’une organisation. Mais comment créer un projet d’entreprise sur le long terme ? Chargés de fortes valeurs dès nos débuts nous poursuivons le but de créer un cercle vertueux entre la société et la technologie au profit de l’humain. Mais comment le garantir ?

Adeptes des approches lean et agile pour la gestion de nos projets, nous avons décidé d’implémenter ces principes à toute la structure organisationnelle d’Octree, en mettant en place un système d’organisation distribué : l’Holacracy.

L’Holacracy nous apporte un fonctionnement agile, que tout le monde peut s’approprier, reposant sur une constitution comme pouvoir suprême: nous n’avons donc plus de chef ou de CEO.

Le leadership et les responsabilités sont distribués pour fluidifier notre fonctionnement et laisser place à chacun.
Le leadership et les responsabilités sont distribués pour fluidifier notre fonctionnement et laisser place à chacun.

Casser la pyramide

Le système standard et appliqué dans la majorité des entreprises aujourd’hui atteint ses limites et reste très dirigiste. En voulant trop de contrôle il ne fait qu’ignorer la réalité et met en valeur une carrière d’individus plutôt que la poursuite d’un but commun.

L’Holacracy donne plus de liberté en s’organisant par rôle et en rendant claires les limites de champs d’action possibles. Cela encourage et protège la prise d’initiative. L’erreur n’est plus un élément négatif, mais perçue comme un apprentissage.

Exemple de "structure existante" —  Mark Walsh, Integration Training.
Exemple de "structure existante" —  Mark Walsh, Integration Training.

Autogestion orientée solution

Très structurées, les réunions en Holacracy visent à se concentrer sur l’identification de tensions et leurs résolutions. Rien n’est laissé au hasard en ayant toujours une personne pour faciliter le dialogue et l’identification de la problématique.

Toutes les personnes travaillant à Octree peuvent apporter des solutions structurelles ou de nouvelles règles afin d’améliorer la collaboration. Chacun à donc aussi la responsabilité de le faire.

Transparence & confiance

Un devoir de transparence sur les actions et projets de chacun est obligatoire pour avancer ensemble. Ce principe nous permet d’aller de l’avant en profitant des avis de chacun pour s’inscrire dans une démarche d’amélioration continue. La transparence est également un élément clé pour renforcer la confiance et la bienveillance entre nous.

Finalement, en voulant préserver la « confiance et la bienveillance entre personnes”, nous préservons un environnement de travail sain et prospère où tout le monde est toujours prêt à donner le meilleur de lui-même pour préserver un lieu où l’humain est clé.

Pour citer Matt Dunsmoor, ancien chef de produit chez Zappos, au sujet des entreprises holacratiques: L’Holacracy n’est en fin de compte qu’une forme de hiérarchie alternative, toutefois avec une différence radicale: c’est une hiérarchie de travail et non de personnes.

Le changement est plus facile lorsqu'il permet d'évoluer.
Parlons ensemble de votre projet.
Contactez-nous