Decidim & civic techs

Participatory democracy powered by a reliable solution

Decidim is an open-source platform that can easily be tailored to suit the needs of your project: whether it’s about public concertations, digital democracy, or distributed governance, it’s a plug & play solution. Among other benefits, Decidim enables to strengthen your citizen’s trust in participatory processes by grounding itself in a core of transparent and open-source values, enabling a boost in engagement.

Unlike a fair number of civic tech proprietary solutions available today on the market, Decidim is licensed under open-source standards, which means it is not only safer than most solutions but simply also naturally transparent concerning the use of data. Decidim is supported by the European Union and benefits of years of improvements contributed by an international community of cities and regions which have been now using it for years, like Barcelona, Helsinki, or Mexico.

Decidim is made of powerful but intuitive modules, enabling administrators to create, manage, and moderate activities such as concertations, meetings, debates, participatory budgeting, and even a voting module. These solutions are accompanied by usage statistics, user accounts, and community management tools.

We guided the State of Geneva in setting up Decidim for their platform Participer.ge.ch.
We guided the State of Geneva in setting up Decidim for their platform Participer.ge.ch.

A participatory democracy platform available under 48 hours

We offer two solutions: for urgent projects, we provide SaaS (Software as a Service) enabling you to start configuring your platform in under 48 hours. You won’t be left alone: we’ll guide you all the way on how to use and administer the platform as well as on the best practices in communication and participative democracy practices. Your instance of Decidim will always be hosted in Switzerland, on the highly secured and scalable servers of our partners.

For projects requiring absolute control on everything technical, we offer an on-premise installation on your servers. With a technical stack based on Ruby on Rails and Docker, your project is in good hands: these technologies are at the center of octree’s culture from the start. Octree is a Decidim partner: we contributed to updates on the Decidim project. In need of something specific? We will answer straightforwardly: if these aren’t already on the roadmap of evolutions planned by the community, we’ll be happy to offer custom development.

Whatever option you choose, we always deliver our platform with guidance: we’ll walk you through the best practices on how to administer Decidim and manage its users.

Cities & NGO's: tailored support for your digital democracy

Which attitude to adopt? How and when to launch your project? How to start a public dialogue and how to nurture it? Your platform comes along with support tailored to your organization’s needs: might your project be on the local, regional or territorial scale, we’ll help you establish the right participatory strategy, digital communication, measure the perceived credibility of the project in your users’ eyes, or even the platform’s usability with scientifically proven UX research methods.

Need help to create and publish content on your platform, or even to facilitate concertation workshops? We’ll be happy to help with that.

Let’s talk about it!

Tell us about your project, ideas or simply get in touch.
Contact Us

Decidim & civic techs

La démocratie participative propulsée par une solution fiable

La plateforme de démocratie participative Decidim peut être mise à votre disposition pour tous vos projets de concertations, débats, budgets participatifs et gouvernance partagée simplement et rapidement. Parmi plusieurs avantages, elle permet de renforcer la confiance perçue des citoyens dans les démarches participatives en s’inscrivant dès le début dans un fonctionnement transparent et open-source.

Contrairement à plusieures solutions dans les Civic-techs, Decidim bénéficie d’une licence de logiciel libre, ce qui renforce non seulement sa sécurité en comparaison à d’autres solutions mais également sa transparence en matière de gestion des données. La plateforme est née d’expériences menées partout en Europe et bénéficie de soutiens européens pour son développement. Depuis plusieures années, elle est utilisée à l’échelle internationale: elle se base donc sur un savoir-faire solide et mature.

Decidim s’articule autour de modules poussés mais simples d’utilisation permettant de créer, administrer et modérer des activités telles que concertations, consultations, rencontres, débats, budgets participatifs et même votations. Cette solution s’accompagne également de statistiques, de comptes utilisateurs et de modules de gestions des communautés.

Nous avons accompagné l'État de Genève dans la configuration de Decidim pour leur plateforme Participer.ge.ch
Nous avons accompagné l'État de Genève dans la configuration de Decidim pour leur plateforme Participer.ge.ch

Une plateforme de démocratie participative disponible en 48h

Nous proposons 2 solutions: pour les projets urgents, la configuration SaaS (Software as a Service) de Decidim avec une version accessible et utilisable sous 48 heures pour configurer la plateforme dès le début. L’instance Decidim sera toujours hébergée en Suisse, sur les serveurs hautement sécurisés et scalables de nos partenaires.

Pour les projets nécessitant un contrôle absolu sur les données: nous installons Decidim sur vos serveurs en travaillant avec votre équipe technique.

Avec une technologie basée sur Rails & Docker, vous êtes entre de bonnes mains: ces technologies sont au centre de notre travail depuis nos débuts. Octree est partenaire de Decidim: nous avons contribué au projet en développant des mises à jour pour celui-ci. Nous répondons en toute franchise à vos besoins spécifiques: si ceux-ci ne sont pas déjà agendés dans les évolutions prévues par la communauté, nous vous proposons volontiers un développement sur mesure.

Quelle que soit l’option que vous choisissez, nous livrons toujours la plateforme avec une formation à l’administration et vous proposons notre accompagnement.

Villes & ONG: un accompagnement complet en démocratie digitale

Quelle approche adopter, comment lancer votre projet, comment initier un dialogue public et le maintenir ? Avec la mise en place de votre plateforme, nous vous proposons un accompagnement sur mesure: que votre plateforme soit active à l’échelle locale, régionale ou territoriale, nous vous aidons à établir votre stratégie participative, votre communication digitale, à mesurer la crédibilité de votre démarche auprès des citoyens. Finalement, nous pouvons également mesurer l’utilisabilité de votre plateforme avec des méthodes scientifiques de recherche UX (expérience utilisateur).

Besoin d’aide pour créer et publier du contenu sur la plateforme, ou encore pour animer des  concertations ? Nous sommes toujours à vos côtés.

Parlez-nous de votre projet!

Le changement est plus facile lorsqu'il permet d'évoluer.
Parlons ensemble de votre projet.
Contactez-nous